All creatures great and small summary book

7.25  ·  1,106 ratings  ·  530 reviews
all creatures great and small summary book

All Creatures Great and Small Summary & Study Guide

Alf Wight. A wonderful heartwarming story of life in Yorkshire Dales. When Herriot accepts a job working for Sigfried Farnon, he had no idea what he was getting into. In this book you'll meet Mrs. Pomfrey and her very spoiled dog, Tricky-Woo, Mr. Mulligan and his "womiting " Clancy. You'll see how Herriot finds both friendship and love in the beautiful town of Darrowby.
File Name: all creatures great and small summary
Size: 62741 Kb
Published 09.01.2019

All Creatures Great & Small s03e03 Every Dog His Day

All Creatures Great and Small is a book made up of a series of episodes that occur in the first two years of the veterinary practice of the protagonist, James Herriot. The plot is told through short anecdotes about treating animals, meeting farmers and other clients, and participating in the culture of the Dales.

All Creatures Great and Small

Chapter 1 Herriot is having a hard time with a calving in the dead of winter. Chapter 2 Herriot remembers the day he came to talk to his would-be boss, Siegfried Farnon, with only a little hope that he would get a paid position. Times are bad in England, and most students that graduated with Herriot are lucky to find work just to pay their board. Chapter 3 Herriot goes on farm calls with Farnon in this chapter. He is grateful to be doing real work, and feels that this is the best way to show Farnon that he is qualified for the position. At their last call he gets kicked by a cow. But he has survived his first day.

Navigation menu

Fresh out of Glasgow Veterinary College, to the young James Herriot s Yorkshire seems to offer an idyllic pocket of rural life in a rapidly changing world. But from his erratic new colleagues, brothers Siegfried and Tristan Farnon, to incomprehensible farmers, herds of semi-feral cattle, a pig called Nugent and an overweight Pekingese called Tricki Woo, James finds he is on a learning curve as steep as the hills around him. See more book details 17 January Bulls with sunstroke, pigs on the run and a cake-eating Peke with a betting habit. I grew up reading James Herriot's book and I'm delighted that thirty years on they are still every bit as charming, heartwarming and laugh-out-loud funny as they were then. Kate Humble The attraction of Herriot's ever popular memoirs of a country vet. And, of course, there's a powerful nostalgia element in these stories about our green and pleasant land in the day before the ravages of ribbon development.

All Creatures Great and Small is the memoir of a country veterinarian that includes many different kinds of stories, from ridiculous anecdotes to tear-jerking memories. The book begins as Herriot starts off on his own after veterinary school. He is desperate to find a job and is offered the position as an assistant to Dr. Siegfried Farnon in Darrowby. Little does Herriot know what his acceptance of this position will mean for the rest of his life. Happy to have a job, he launches headlong into his new career.

This is a list of all 90 television episodes from the British television series All Creatures Great and Small. Dates shown are original broadcast dates on BBC One. James and Siegfried are the only two characters to appear in every episode. Tristan appears in 65 episodes, Helen in The final appearances of regular cast members are also noted. Filmed in , the opening credits for the first three series feature Siegfried and James driving around the Dales and, at one point, sharing a laugh in the car.


  1. Luisa V. says:

    All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot

  2. Todd H. says:

    All Creatures Great and Small

  3. Partgelypma says:

    All Creatures Great and Small opens in the middle of a wintry night, as James Herriot is called to deliver a calf at the Dinsdales' farm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *